

Contact: Julie Piacentini (617) 828-4535

MEDIA ADVISORY

For Immediate Release September 24, 2014

Boston, MA – Joining a stellar lineup of past and current hockey greats recognized for outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the sport of ice hockey in Massachusetts, six men will be inducted into the Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame on Wednesday November 12, 2014. The 20th Annual induction ceremony and dinner will be held at the Montvale Plaza in Stoneham, starting at **6:00** p.m. Veteran sports broadcaster and 2008 Mass Hockey Hall of Fame inductee **Dave Shea** will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

The Class of 2014 inductees include:

- Legendary college (Boston University and Colby) and professional (Whalers) coach
 Jack Kelley (Belmont)
- South Boston hockey builder **Edward "Ted" Cunniff** (South Boston)
- Harvard captain and Bruin Stanley Cup winner **George Owen** (Newton High School)
- Legendary Boston State College Coach **Ed Barry** (Wellesley)
- Boston College All-American goalie **Bernie Burke** (Newton)
- American Hockey League builder **Bruce Landon**

Past inductees read like a "who's who" of hockey heroes who over the past 50 years have helped position Massachusetts as the hotbed of hockey in the United States. The list is stock full of Olympic and Paralympic heroes, college and NHL stars, female pioneers, high school and college coaching legends, distinguished referees and media icons, as well as a cadre of dedicated,



behind-the-scenes grassroots builders who have tirelessly spent decades furthering the development of the game in Massachusetts.

Inductees to the Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame are chosen on the basis of accomplishments in the game of hockey, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to his or her teams or organizations in college, amateur or professional hockey, or on international teams representing the United States. Each nominee must have distinguished himself or herself by exceptional performance and outstanding character reflecting favorably upon the game of hockey in Massachusetts, be in good public standing in the community, an appropriate role model for young hockey players and an exemplary representative of the game of hockey.

Massachusetts Hockey, Inc., is a not-for-profit tax exempt organization which serves as the affiliate association of USA Hockey, Inc., and is the official governing body for the sport of hockey in Massachusetts. As such, its purposes and objectives are to develop, advance and encourage participation in the sport of hockey; to develop and encourage sportsmanship between all players for the betterment of their physical and social well-being; to develop and improve the standards of the sport; and to educate and train players, coaches, referees, managers, administrators and parents. For more information, visit www.masshockey.com.

A limited number of tickets (\$60) to the 2014 Hall of Fame Induction Dinner are available and may be purchased by contacting Julie Piacentini at <u>juliepiacentini@netscape.net</u> or (617) 828-4535.

###



PAST HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES

1995

1960 Men's Olympic Team (Gold)

Robert Cleary William Cleary John Kirrane Richard Rodenheiser Eugene Grazia Jack Riley

1980 Men's Olympic Team (Gold)

Jim Craig Mike Eruzione Jack O'Callahan Daye Silk

<u>1996</u>

Robert Caldwell

<u>1997</u>

John Cunniff Tim Taylor

<u> 1998</u>

Ed Burns

1999

Debbie Parece

1998 Women's Olympic Team (Gold)

Laurie Baker Colleen Coyne A.J. Mleczko Vicki Movsessian Sandra Whyte Ben Smith (Coach) Tom Mutch (Coach) 1999

Debbie Parece

1998 Women's Olympic Team (Gold)

Laurie Baker Colleen Coyne A.J. Mleczko Vicki Movsessian Sandra Whyte Ben Smith (Coach) Tom Mutch (Coach)

2000

Tom McNeeley Paul McLaughlin

1972 Olympic Team (Silver)

Kevin Ahern
Robbie Ftorek
Stu Irving
Richard McGlynn
Tom Mellor
Tim Regan
Tim Sheehy
Murray Williamson (Coach)

2001

Richard "Duke" Kumpel Nancy Schieffelin John Chambers Rod Langway Len Ceglarski Dan Kelleher **2002**

Ron DiFilippo
Cindy Curley
Mark Fusco
Scott Fusco
Ed Walsh
John "Snooks" Kelly
Julie Piacentini

2002 Men's Olympic Team (Silver)

Tony Amonte
Tom Barrasso
Bill Guerin
Tom Poti
Jeremy Roenick
Keith Tkachuk
Scott Young
Larry Pleau

2002 Women's Olympic

Team
(Silver)

Courtney Kennedy **2002 Men's Paralympic**

2 Men's Paralympio Team

(Gold) Joe Howard Kip St. Germaine

2003

Ron DeGregorio
John Hart
Joe McConville
Gary Dineen
Kelly Dyer
Paul Stewart
Myles Lane
Jim Logue

Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame Committee

Gloria Heerman (Chair), Keri-Anne Allan (Asst. Chair), Greg Sophis (Asst. Chair), Joe Bertagna, Steve Burke, Paul Crowley, Joe Curnane, Ron DiFilippo, Gary Eggleston, Dan Esdale, Joanne Federico Paul George, Roger Heerman, Mark Hickey, Kevin Kavanagh, Tom McGrath, Jean Ann Nigro, Mindy O'Neil, Julie Piacentini, Jim Prior, Bob Welch



PAST HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES

2004

John O'Halloran
Burt Herman
Bob Carpenter
Patty Kazmaier
Henry Hughes
Jack Riley
Fred Cusick

2005

Harry Sinden Albert Ferst Bill Chase Ralph Cox Fred Ahern Sid Watson Bill Stewart Carl Gray

2006

Bob Crocker
Katie King
Bill Riley, Sr.
Bill Riley, Jr.
Bob Corkum
Tom Fitzgerald
Charlie Holt
Henry "Mike" Cheever

2007

Johnny Bucyk
Garrett Reagan
William "Buddy" Ferreira
Hilary Witt
Robert Wheeler
Cap Raeder
Robert Barry
Anthony "Tony" Lucci
Richard Gunn

2008

Ted Donato
Milt Schmidt
Walter Brown
Stephanie O'Sullivan
Joe "Red" Czarnota
Gerry Bartholomew
Paul Barber
Kevin Collins
Dave Shea
Gordon Blaney
Allen Wright

2009

Bob Sweeney
John Titus
Tina Cardinale
Paul Schwabe
Paul Surette
Peter Doherty
Marty Pierce
Jack Grinold
Bob Wilson

2010

Nate Greenberg
Mike Gilligan
Ned Bunyon
Jim Cooney
John Gustafson
Bob Rogers
Jack Garrity
Lee Johnson
Dave Hynes
Bob McManama
Bill Corkery

2011

Fernie Flaman Mike O'Connell Bobby Miller Jack Falla Dan Lynch Phil Re Gloria Heerman Barbara Wright Jeanette Duval

2012

Rick Middleton
Tom "Red" Martin
Ed "Butch" Songin
Don Whiston
Karen Kay
Alan "Doc" Ashare
Joe Ferraro
Mike Tenney
Bill Kipouras
Tom Lynch

2013

Joe Riley
Ken Martin
Jim Prior
Gary Eggleston
Dale Wise
Marion Sturdevant
Carol Champagne

Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame Committee

Gloria Heerman (Chair), Keri-Anne Allan (Asst. Chair), Greg Sophis (Asst. Chair), Joe Bertagna, Steve Burke, Paul Crowley, Joe Curnane, Ron DiFilippo, Gary Eggleston, Dan Esdale, Joanne Federico Paul George, Roger Heerman, Mark Hickey, Kevin Kavanagh, Tom McGrath, Jean Ann Nigro, Mindy O'Neil, Julie Piacentini, Jim Prior, Bob Welch