Ask the Official - Week 9
November 4 - 10, 2011

The USA Hockey Rulebook and Playing Rules Casebook can be found on the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Answers to other questions may be found at the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Thank you for all your submissions.If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us atasktheofficial@usahockey.org.


QUESTION: Can a USA Hockey goaltender be an on-ice captain or alternate captain (wear a "C" or "A" on their uniform)? I am aware the NHL does not allow this since the 1948-1949 season.

ANSWER: Rule 202(a) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“No goalkeepers shall be entitled to exercise the privileges of Captain.”

That being stated, there are no rules that prevent a goalkeeper from being designated as a team captain and wearing the “C” on her sweater. USA Hockey rules do allow a team to have more that one Captain; however only one captain may exercise the privileges during a game.


QUESTION: I am a Pee Wee coach. One of my parents asked me if they could separate the sides of their son's jersey and add extra fabric so the jersey could be wider. It would be difficult for them to buy a new jersey for their son this season. The extra panels of fabric on either side would be the same color as the base color of the jersey. The main issue would be that the stripes wouldn't go all the way around the bottom of the jersey. The front, back, and top of the sleeve would remain the same. It would just be wider in the body and the bottom of the sleeve. Is this jersey legal if it is changed?

ANSWER: If the additional material is added to make the jersey fit properly and allow the player more mobility then this would be permitted. However, if the additional material is added to a goalkeeper sweater to create an unfair advantage while playing goalkeeper, this would not be allowable.


QUESTION:We have parents who like to work the penalty box and take photos or just take photos from the penalty box during a game. Are they breaking any rules in doing this?

ANSWER: Since the assignment of Off-Ice Officials is left to the Local Hockey Associations we encourage you to contact them about what is permissible during games. It would also be wise to ask the rink to see if they have any liability rules about taking pictures from the benches during games.


QUESTION: Is it a penalty if I stick check an opponent with a quick upward movement of my stick and I initially make stick to stick contact, however I do make slight contact with his hands? Note that the contact with the hands in no way impeded my opponent’s position, direction, or ability to play the puck.
ANSWER: The USA Hockey Standard of Play states,

“A player cannot use his/her stick against an opponent’s body (puck carrier or non-puck carrier) to gain a positional advantage 

Examples include:
• Tugs or pulls on the body, arms or hands of the opponent which allows for the space between the players to diminish.
• Placing the stick in front of the opponent’s body and locking on – impeding the opponent’s progress or causing a loss of balance.
• Stick on the hand/arm that takes away the ability for the opponent to pass or shoot the puck with a normal amount of force.”

All stick on stick contact must be restricted to the lower portion of an opponent’s stick (i.e. stick-lift or stick-press). The moment stick contact targets the hands and impedes the opponent's progress it must be called for hooking.


QUESTION: A player receives a minor penalty and then receives a second unsportsmanlike minor penalty on his way to the penalty box. Does the coach have the option of playing 5 v. 3 for two minutes instead of 5 v. 4 for four minutes?

ANSWER: If one player receives two minor penalties during a stoppage, the team must play 5 v. 4 for four minutes.

