Ask the Official - Week 8
October 28 - November 3, 2011

The USA Hockey Rulebook and Playing Rules Casebook can be found on the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Answers to other questions may be found at the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Thank you for all your submissions.If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us atasktheofficial@usahockey.org.



QUESTION: At what age levels are pins supposed to be in the net to better hold the net in place?

ANSWER: USA Hockey does not have any official policy regarding the use of goal pegs. The decision of what playing levels should use them is left to the Local Associations, Team Officials, and Game Officials to make with the best interests of fair play and player safety in mind. We recommend contacting your local Youth Association to receive more information about their policies.


QUESTION: Can you explain Rule 612(d)?

ANSWER: This rule states that no attacking player may enter the attacking zone further than the top of the face-off circles during a “gathering of players” after a whistle. This is to prevent small scrums from becoming line-brawls.


QUESTION: Are neck-guards mandatory?

ANSWER: Under straight USA Hockey Playing Rules neck-guards are strongly recommended but not mandatory equipment at any level. However, all USA Hockey Affiliates, Leagues, and Hockey Associations are entitled to create stricter rules regarding equipment that must be worn. Therefore, we encourage you to follow-up with your local association to see if they have any local rules.


QUESTION: A goalkeeper is assessed a misconduct penalty for using profane language. The coach wants the goalkeeper to think about the consequences of his actions by serving the misconduct penalty. However, under Rule 407(a) the goalkeeper would not be allowed to serve his own misconduct penalty. What is the rationale behind not allowing a goalkeeper to serve his/her own misconduct penalty?

ANSWER: The rationale behind goalkeepers not serving penalties is due to the fact that many teams at the grassroots level of our game do not have back-up goalkeepers. Therefore, rather than holding up the game trying to figure out the Temporary Goalkeeper situation USA Hockey mandates that goalkeeper penalties must be served by a player on the ice at the time of the infraction.


QUESTION:A Linesman working his first game stops play and signals a tripping penalty as if he were the Referee. Because the Linesman does not have the authority to call most penalties yet play was still stopped, how should the Referee handle this situation?

ANSWER: This question could have two possible answers,
Rule 503(e) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,“The Linesman shall report to the Referee at the next stoppage of play his version of any infraction of the rules that he believes constitutes a bench minor, major, match, misconduct, game misconduct or penalty shot under these rules. In addition, the Linesman shall give his version of any Injury Potential Penalty (see Glossary) that occurs behind the play and is not observed by the Referee. The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a penalty for such infractions.”Therefore, if the penalty is determined to be a good, injury-potential call then the Referee should explain to the coach that the Linesman’s call was correct but he just got a little “over-eager”.
If the penalty does not fall within the categories of Rule 503(e), then the Referee would have to give a quick explanation to both benches that the Linesman made a mistake, but “he’s learning from the experience”.
In both cases, the Referee should take the opportunity to explain the rules and procedures of assisting the Referee on the ice with penalty calls.

