Ask the Official - Week 2
September 21 - 27, 2012

QUESTION #1: During the intermission break between the periods a coach uses the time to keep his entire team warmed up. He does this by throwing out a dozen pucks and the boys pass them from side board to side board and shoot a few pucks at the goalie. They stay on their own half of the ice and are off the ice and ready for play when the one minute period break is up. I see no problem with this as long as they stay on their own half of the ice and are ready for play when the intermission buzzer sounds. Your thoughts please.

ANSWER #1: The USA Hockey Playing Rules do not allow any type of warm-up period after the beginning of the game. Therefore, the coach may not send his team out onto the ice with a dozen pucks to pass around.
 
The only exception to this rule is a team may use the intermission break to warm-up a substituted (not starting) goalkeeper using four pucks as outlined in USAH Rule 636(f).


QUESTION #2: My daughter was a first year player last year. She should have been a Squirt but was allowed to play down in Mites. She wanted to play again this year but would have been considered a second year Squirt due to her age (just turned 10) and she decided not to play because she didnt want to get clobbered by the experienced boys. Where do I find info on female players playing down. Can she be a Mite one more year to learn game play and gain confidence?

ANSWER #2: Since this question lies outside the subject of the playing rules we recommend contacting your State or District Registrar. Registrars are responsible for tracking player and team eligibility and are in a better position to answer this question. Contact information can be found in the USA Hockey Annual Guidebook under the AboutUSAH link at USAHockey.com.


QUESTION #3: What rule governs whether or not a player can leave the penalty box at the end of the period to come to his bench for the short period intermission and receive instruction before the start of the next period?

ANSWER #3: There is no rule preventing a player from leaving the penalty box during an intermission. Otherwise, he would have to stay there during an intermission that included an ice resurfacing.
 
That being stated, all penalized players must stay in the penalty bench during a timeout (USAH Rule 636f).


QUESTION #4: I have two goalies on our team and they are being asked to skate out as a player when not in net. We have had conflicting information about them being allowed to skate out wearing their goalie skates.  We have been told by the goalie and skating coaches it is dangerous for them to change back and forth from goalie skate to player skates. We have also been told, by officials it is dangerous for them to skate out in goalie skates and it is not allowed. I need to know what the actual rule is and where it is written. Rule 302 states they are required to be in hockey skates, and says nothing about goalie skates.

ANSWER #4: Situation #3 on Page 56 of the USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook states that “players” may not wear goalkeeper skates during a game.


QUESTION #5: I recently referred to the USA Rule Book regarding misconducts and it indicates that a misconduct penalty is ten minutes.  I am inquiring whether that is ten minutes regardless of the length of each the period duration or if the misconduct time is permitted to be pro-rated to one half of a period (plus the minor or major time that could be assessed with that misconduct).

ANSWER #5: Since the Local Governing Body (league, association, affiliate, etc.) decides the actual length of game periods they will be in the best position to answer this question. Each league or hockey association (with the State Affiliate’s approval) may set their own standards in regard to games times and penalty length.

